Recently diagnosed

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 3 replies
  • 24 subscribers

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here. I was recently diagnosed with stage 4 Stomach cancer and oesophageal cancer. I am a 66 year old woman, usually in good health so this came out of the blue. Have had 5 days of RT to try and free up the stricture in my oesophagus to enable me to eat as was mainly on liquids. Will shortly be starting 3 months of chemo. What I have is inoperable so will be palliative treatment only. Just wondering if anyone else out there is going through or has been through this. I've had days of feeling pretty rough post RT. I know chemo is going to be tough but would like to hear other peoples stories and encouragement. I know I cant be cured but would like to live as long as possible and spend time with my 2 sons and 2 grandchildren. 

Thanks.

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi. My husband was diagnosed with the same Xmas Eve! He’s had his first 5 cycles of chemo which did not work all that well, but they are still treating and he starts his 2nd line chemo next week. Although he has lost a lot of weight and has had to have stents fitted to his kidney tubes he is not doing too bad. We try to remain positive and hope for a miracle. He is 51 and I’m 46. 
    My thoughts are with you, stay well and keep going!

x

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to FormerMember

Thank you for replying. That must have been tough for you hearing the news when you did. I hope your husband does start responding to chemo and feels a lot better. I think a positive attitude goes a long way. I wish you both all the luck in the world. Miracles can happen. You both take care, keep fighting.My thoughts are also with you both. Stay strong.

xx

• Hi