Travel Insurance

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 1 reply
  • 57 subscribers

Hi: Newbie here, please be gentle! Heartfelt Thanks to McMillan for wonderful care at the Pink Rose Suite and Amethyst Ward, DPoW Hospital Grimsby.

Background: I already had a number of conditions, including crushed C4 vertebra and spinal nerve damage, Parastomal hernia and gall bladder removed, when I was scanned for Prostate bleed in Dec. 2017. This scan found cancer in the Pancreas tail and it was removed, along with my spleen, in April '18. I had chemo from 30 May '18 to 7 November '18. During the treatment I had further Lymph gland cancer. I am SO happy to say that my last appointment after a further scan (weds. 13 March '19) confirmed that I am clear, with a hopefully final scan and appointment in July this year. The prostate is awaiting a similarly hopeful verdict after another PSA, but appears to be just enlarged, with no bleeds. Until this last PSA I cannot give a final verdict re my prostate, to obtain a travel quote.

I have in the past used Staysure Insurance and found them to be patient, courteous and helpful. However, if anyone else has more choices after their own experiences, I would consider others. My wife and I are flying to Budapest on 2 August 2019, for an 8 day Danube cruise, returning to Manchester airport from Budapest. We have an overnight stay at the Carlton airport hotel on 1 August, as our flight is early. Both of us have disabilities involving mobility issues, no wheelchairs necessary. Obviously I have to communicate all this to whichever Insurance company I choose: does anyone have experience-based advice please?

I am still in wonder at the fact that a bleeding prostate caused my GP to send me for CT and MRI scans in Dec. '17. Without those scans, my pancreatic cancer may never have been spotted until too late. Every cloud has a silver lining!