Cracked tongue

• 31 replies
  • 71 subscribers

Hi everyone! Hope u are all as well as u can be! I'm really new to this, still trying to figure out how to navigate around it lol. Wish I'd knew about this wen I was going thru it all, there's loads of info on here i didn't know about! Dani and Hazel, I've read both ur blogs, so very interesting and informative! 

I finished 35 sessions of radiotherapy 1st Feb, for SNUC, rare cancer in the sinuses, since then I, like so many of u on here, have zero saliva. I also have an extremely cracked tongue? I've been told that's down to having no saliva... 

Does anyone have any good tips or ideas to help with the cracked tongue? 

I'm not sure if it was Dani or Hazel but someone mentioned Xylimelts which I've never heard of and Boots in my town here have one box left so someone has been dispatched to Boots as we speak! I really hope these work for me, I'm very excited! Xo 

• Hi Dee. So sorry you've had to contend with cancer but glad you have found us. The community has lots of people ready to support and give tips. I don't know what I'd have done without it in the early days and still now.

Xylimelts are good and work if you have a little saliva. 16 months on from treatment I still use one at night. There are various moisturising mouthwashes that you should be able to get from your GP. Biotene is very soothing and worth a try. You can also get it in a gel which you can use at night.

If your salivary glands get hard when you're eating it means there is still some functioning tissue there so it might help massaging them till the hardness goes away. With a little luck you might be able to open up a few channels to get some saliva in your mouth.

PS thanks for reading the blog  And I’m glad you enjoyed it