My husband's prostate journey

• 150 replies
  • 171 subscribers

Hi everyone I'm new to this page so please excuse me if I ramble on, my hubby was diagnosed DLBCL 2 yrs ago, he went into full remission last summer we were absolutely and looking forward to getting back to normal we had just gotten over that when he was diagnosed with prostate cancer, so at end of January this year he had his op, he recovered well, no problems etc.  He was back for his check up today, his PSA is through the roof so it seems he has cancer somewhere in his body, we are both devastated, so it's back to waiting on scans etc.  My head is fit to burst, I'm trying to be very brave for him, but I just want to howl at the moon, he is very matter of fact about everything, so fingers crossed for him for his upcoming battle, thank you for listening to me

Linda

• Hi AW I wasn't  told there were cribriform patterns present or intraductal markers either after my biopsy June 2022, then after my TURP in February 2023 when the shavings were analysed and showed blear progression was still not told. Only found out through requesting my hospital notes, PS the number of things they don't tell you about is amazing/worrying, I would recommend everyone asks for theirs. How are you feeling, are you getting close to full fitness and enjoying being back at work in the fresh air and hopefully sunshine, best wishes.

Eddie

• Hi Eddie,  that doesn’t surprise me at all - but then I think that most men would prefer it that way.   It won’t surprise you that I took screenshots of the consultant’s notes (after requesting permission) and also screenshots of my scans! I also asked for a print out of the MDT discussion- where I found reference to cribriform and AIP (both of which are relatively common in Grade 4 PCa). They are mentioned to sway people away from active surveillance.