My husband's prostate journey

• 150 replies
  • 163 subscribers

Hi everyone I'm new to this page so please excuse me if I ramble on, my hubby was diagnosed DLBCL 2 yrs ago, he went into full remission last summer we were absolutely and looking forward to getting back to normal we had just gotten over that when he was diagnosed with prostate cancer, so at end of January this year he had his op, he recovered well, no problems etc.  He was back for his check up today, his PSA is through the roof so it seems he has cancer somewhere in his body, we are both devastated, so it's back to waiting on scans etc.  My head is fit to burst, I'm trying to be very brave for him, but I just want to howl at the moon, he is very matter of fact about everything, so fingers crossed for him for his upcoming battle, thank you for listening to me

Linda

• Hi Linda,

I am so sorry to hear your story. I know how you feel, we were there 6 months ago when my husband was diagnosed with advanced PC. I was cold for 3 days and could not sleep eat or sometimes even breath. I promise that when the waiting time will be over and the diagnosis complete, you will meet the oncologist and a plan will be put in place. PC even advanced one has so many routes of treatments that work and work well. I can tell you that my husband started hormone therapy with injections every 3 months and daily tables. His life is almost normal. He swim everyday for an hour, go to the gym, bake and look after me and our grandchildren ( they are tonight sleepover with us).  Next week in addition to the HT he start 6 sessions of radio therapy.

What I am trying to say that our life return to normal. He has the treatment and some side effects, mainly fatigue, but apart of this his quality of life is brilliant and is not different than a year ago.