Cracked tongue

• 31 replies
  • 71 subscribers

Hi everyone! Hope u are all as well as u can be! I'm really new to this, still trying to figure out how to navigate around it lol. Wish I'd knew about this wen I was going thru it all, there's loads of info on here i didn't know about! Dani and Hazel, I've read both ur blogs, so very interesting and informative! 

I finished 35 sessions of radiotherapy 1st Feb, for SNUC, rare cancer in the sinuses, since then I, like so many of u on here, have zero saliva. I also have an extremely cracked tongue? I've been told that's down to having no saliva... 

Does anyone have any good tips or ideas to help with the cracked tongue? 

I'm not sure if it was Dani or Hazel but someone mentioned Xylimelts which I've never heard of and Boots in my town here have one box left so someone has been dispatched to Boots as we speak! I really hope these work for me, I'm very excited! Xo 

• Hi Dee , if yiu git a little foaming that’s good news yiu must have a tiny bit of saliva around so something to work with . I still so water several times in the night  and I am 22 month post radiotherapy. While you are waiting for lockdown look online for massage techniques for encouraging saliva glands I found a few when I finished  treatment in yiu tube nothing aggtesieve just gentle downward strokes .

Keep in touch Hazel x 

Hazel aka RadioactiveRaz 

My blog is www.radioactiveraz.wordpress.com  HPV 16+ tonsil cancer Now 5 years  post treatment. 35 radiotherapy 2 chemo T2N2NM.Happily getting on with living always happy to help  

• Hi Hazel, thank u for replying! Yes I'll have a wee look at the massage techniques, again never knew that was possible, can't believe these pieces of vital info aren't passed on during therapy! 

Take care Hazel, Blush

Dee
  • Hi Dee