glioblastoma grade 4

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 2 replies
  • 33 subscribers

apologies if this format is "wrong" - I'm not experienced in the ways of forums but if my experiences can help anyone else, that would be great.  My chemotherapy journey so far thanks to the brilliant NHS

In about June of 2017 I started getting very bad headaches that I thought were just extreme cluster migraines which I had suffered from occasionally over the years. No painkillers or migraine medication helped at all. The only thing that alleviated it at all was strong expresso coffee.

I finally went to the doctors – initially I was told to buy a book to “treat your own neck” problems.  I had a fall on the 29th august and went back to the doctors for a blood test. While waiting for the results I woke one morning and my husband noticed my left side of face was drooping.  He ‘phoned the doctor who told him to call an ambulance, suspecting a stroke.

The resulting mri showed a large right parietal tumour glioblastoma grade 4. I was sent to kings college hospital in London and given a prognosis of 3 months with no intervention – 6 to 12 months with surgery , chemo and radio I had as much of it removed as surgically  possible – debaulked -on the 13th September 2017. They were pleased with the amount they had managed to remove and extended my prognosis once chemo and radio had been completed to 18 months. They always told me that the tumour would reappear

I started my first rounds of radio 30th oct 2017 daily except for weekends until 8th Dec and chemo  Temozolomide weekly from 4th November until Jan 2018. I had quarterly mris to monitor my treatment.  All the various drugs and treatments gave me blood clots and an atrial flutter

Bisoprolol for the flutter

Lovenox injections for the clots whilst on chemo – apixaban tablets when not.

15th feb 2019– legs gave way and had a fall – another ambulance to hospital

Compact wedge fractures of t10,11 and 12