Balancing caring and work

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 34 replies
  • 45 subscribers

This is all new for me. My husband was diagnosed with Lymphoma about a month ago. Since then I’ve been signed  off work, which has been great. It’s meant I can take him to all the appointments and he doesn’t have to be on his own, which I know he would struggle with.  I’m a teacher and my sick note doesn’t run until the end of the school year. But I have a fair few things I need to do at school before August, I broached this with my husband and family and they have all made me feel incredibly guilty for wanting to go in and get things done. Just wondering how other people get a balance. 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to FormerMember

Hi Josie, it's really very difficult balancing caring with our own needs and you sound just like me - I feel very guilty whenever I spend time away from mum. It's really important that you keep your own life on track though, you have to survive this too and to do that you need that bit of happiness and hope to keep you going. 

Money worries are always an issue for me too, keeping my car on the road is a huge pressure as without it my mum would be a prisoner indoors. Check out www.turn2us.co.uk. It's a great website that can help with benefits and also offers charitable grants, I've had two grants from them.

Have you got any carers coming in to check on mum? If not get in touch with her GP, I'm sure you'd be eligible for care support in the home. I also installed a camera in my mum's house that gives me live feed to my phone, that way I can check on her whenever I need to. I think it cost me c. £100. 

Big hugs and I hope you get the all clear from your biopsy so you don't have another worry to deal with x

• FormerMember

Hello Josie 

I’m so sorry to hear about your mum and I have everything crossed that your biopsy results are nothing to worry about. That must be absolutely the last thing you need.