Balancing caring and work

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 34 replies
  • 45 subscribers

This is all new for me. My husband was diagnosed with Lymphoma about a month ago. Since then I’ve been signed  off work, which has been great. It’s meant I can take him to all the appointments and he doesn’t have to be on his own, which I know he would struggle with.  I’m a teacher and my sick note doesn’t run until the end of the school year. But I have a fair few things I need to do at school before August, I broached this with my husband and family and they have all made me feel incredibly guilty for wanting to go in and get things done. Just wondering how other people get a balance. 

• Hi and welcome to the community and I am sorry to hear about your husband.

I know at times when Janice has been not in the best of health imy work has in some ways been something of a relief, a steady force in a crazy world where normality still applied. You might be interested to read I'm looking after someone with cancer as I am sure there will be a lot you can relate to there.

One of our friends was a wonderful support when Janice was going through treatment, I hope some of your friends and family can help provide some support so you can feel confident and do the work you need to do.

<<hugs>>

Steve

Community Champion Badge

• Hi Twirl. Its a tricky path, as if you don't feel enough guilt yourself for needing to be in work. Whilst family may think that you should be spending every moment with your husband they haven't had to walk in your shoes. There are many reasons probably why you feel the need to go, and as others have said, you have to do what you feel is right for you, and perhaps they could help you shoulder some of the responsibilities  x

Love is eternal
  • FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to src60

Hi Steve