Balancing caring and work

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 34 replies
  • 45 subscribers

This is all new for me. My husband was diagnosed with Lymphoma about a month ago. Since then I’ve been signed  off work, which has been great. It’s meant I can take him to all the appointments and he doesn’t have to be on his own, which I know he would struggle with.  I’m a teacher and my sick note doesn’t run until the end of the school year. But I have a fair few things I need to do at school before August, I broached this with my husband and family and they have all made me feel incredibly guilty for wanting to go in and get things done. Just wondering how other people get a balance. 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to FormerMember

Hello 

Thank you everyone for you’re advice and support, and for sharing your experiences with me. 

So my plan for going to school to discuss doing a few hours here and there didn’t go to plan. I got to school, was there 15 mins and my husband rings to say that he’s hurt is jaw/neck/throat and needs medical attention. But he first needs to go and collect my mum from minor injuries as she’s chipped a bone in her ankle! So had to run out of work to see to both of them. It wasn’t the picture of ‘work is still important to me’ that I wanted to paint. I’m going to try again tomorrow now mum is strapped up and home and husband has antibiotics. 

You are all right I do need to have some time in the real world   it will be good for me. Just have to see if fate lets me!! 

Well done 1957jools, for getting back out there today. You should be very proud it can be a scary thing especially with everyone asking a million questions. 

• Oh my. Keep going. I've never done white water rafting or any thing adventurous but I am guessing ir sounds  like needing the same steel and determination. Fingers crossed for you. 

• FormerMember