Age 28 and stomach cancer

• 56 replies
  • 23 subscribers

So..

I got my diagnosis 5 days ago, it started with reflux and epigastric pain in November last year, went for an OGD, told I had a stomach ulcer and hpylori. Given eradication, felt better, but reflux still there, had my repeat scope 6 weeks later and ulcer still there so a biopsy was taken… adenocarcinoma stage 2-3, not spread to any lymph nodes or organs.

I’m so angry that a biopsy wasn’t done on my first OGD, so so so angry!!! 
The plan now is, staging laproscopy, FLOT chemo, total gastrectomy, more chemo.

I am a nurse, and I am so worried about dying and I’m so worried about leaving my partner and my family behind.

Life doesn’t feel fair and I asking myself why me?

Has anyone had a similar diagnosis to me and is further along who can support me?

Thank you

Chloe x

• Thank you chad, I’m so happy you’re doing well! Do you mind me asking what your official stage was? Okay if you don’t want to share this x 

• Hi Chloe. I am so sorry you have to go through this. You are so young and my prayers are with you. I went through this last March 2023. Mine was stage 4, when they took my stomach out it went through the wall of stomach. Lymph nodes were fine. I found out after I came back from holidays at the age of 46. My youngest is 11. I was in shock denial angry and was cried non stop for three months. I am sure my eye sight has been affected due to non stop crying. I used to have chest pain (3 years) but doctors kept saying it’s stress. I had to go through private to find out it was stomach cancer and I also had hpylori. I did my own research which made me very depress. I must say few people on macmillan community group gave me so much encouragement. For example     

And others under their chat and link. I think I took over their chat to ask so many questions and still do. They are very helpful and so much positive. I wrote my feeling and journey in those chats.