Totally paranoid PDS Is still in me

• 3 replies
  • 13 subscribers

Hi I’m new to group and am struggling to come to terms with fact I’ve had pleamorphic dermal sarcoma. I had it on my head and it has been removed 7 weeks ago. I have been told by two independent consultants it’s all gone, narrow margins were clear then they took wider margins for precautionary measures before reconstruction and those margins also clear. They have done a physical examination of my  lymph nodes which all appear fine and I’ve had a chest xray that also was clear and am on four monthly review of lymph nodes and six monthly chest X-rays for surveillance. However I can’t get it out of my head that in the time it took them to diagnose (it took six months for them to diagnose as kept saying it was a fungal infection) that it’s in me somewhere else lurking. I didn’t know how to manage my anxiety or what to do. I had to speak to health insurance nurse today and just general conversation she just totally freaked me. Please don’t tell me your stories as I can’t open with my own journey let alone anyone else’s but any coping techniques would be gratefully received. Thank you x

• Hi Davette

I am sorry to hear of your sarcoma diagnosis. It sounds like the surgery has been successful and it is reassuring that the margins were clear. The physical examination and chest xray are also reassuring.

I totally get the anxiety though. Once you have had a diagnosis of cancer I think that it is very normal to feel as you do and I certainly still worry about mine coming back. 

I find talking through my worries does help. The Support Line on here is great and they understand how having the diagnosis and treatment can impact you. Would some counselling help? If you did call them they could also have a look in your local area and see if there is anything available. Some people find a Life after cancer course helpful.