Oesophageal cancer

• 3 replies
  • 63 subscribers

Hi 

My mom has just been diagnosed with stage 4 oesophageal cancer it has spread to lymph nodes so its inoperable . She is going to start chemo next week and possibly immunotherapy. Is anyone else going through similar ??

I would like to here about anyone going through the treatment or been through it. 

I am really struggling to cope with the diagnosis. I am either crying or feel so angry. I keep taking it out on my poor husband which I dont mean to. I just feel so mad.

My mom is a very positive strong person but as I am a nurse I know too much. I am trying to be brave for her but behind closed doors I am a mess.  I am disappointed in myself I thought I was a stronger person than this

• Hello EIB81

Welcome to the forum, it is a great place to learn some stuff that maybe you do not know?

I am really sorry to read of your Mum's OC diagnosis and to learn that it has spread to the lymph nodes, I know how frightening it is to hear that her condition is inoperable, but it is treatable and thankfully the treatment available now is especially good, although that does not mean that there are no side effects, everyone is different and they react differently to the treatment. Also different treatment is given by different hospitals depending on the tumour type.