Terrified of the future

• 16 replies
  • 23 subscribers

Hi all 

This is my first time doing anything like this so I'm not really sure how to put everything into words so I'm sorry if I ramble.

In the last 48 hours, my wonderful and amazing stepfather has been diagnosed with terminal cancer. Both me and my Mum can't begin to comprehend how this has happened- he has been a little unwell or so we thought. He has been having some issues breathing and feeling sleepy alot but none of us had any idea it would turn out to be this.

The hospital said it started in his kidney and has now spread through his liver and his lymphnodes. Due to it spreading so much, we have been told it is now incurable. We don't know how much time we have left, the doctors said some treatments may be able to buy us a couple of years. 

My stepfather has become immensely strong and is at peace with the diagnosis. He has told me and Mum he is not in pain which at least we have that to be thankful for. 

I am terrified and scared of what the future holds. I can't even begin to comprehend my life without him- he came into my life when I was just 2 (I'm now 29) and has basically become my 2nd Dad. My poor Mum is trying to be strong and practical but she too is struggling to comprehend what is happening.

We have a strong network of family members and friends around us who are all in as much shock as we are. 

I don't know what to do or to think. I feel so completely lost and scared- our entire lives have been turned upside down in a matter of 2 days.

• Hi NC1,

So sorry to hear your awful news. We are all here to support you as all know what you’re going through. My husband (52) was diagnosed with stage 4 stomach cancer xmas Eve last year and has declined considerably since then.