Feeling lost after finishing treatment

• 14 replies
  • 35 subscribers

Hi there

This is my first time on here so thought I would introduce myself. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in March 2021 and within 2 weeks was having my 1st chemo session. I had 8 in total. Then I had a mastectomy followed by 15 rounds of radiotherapy. In September  2022 I had a hysterectomy which was my last bit of treatment. I’m now on hormone tablets for 10 years. 

Now my treatment has finished I’ve been feeling emotional and crying over things that wouldn’t normally bother me. I just feel a bit lost and not like ‘me’ if you get me. Things just feel a bit overwhelming and sometimes it feels like no one understands. I find it hard to talk about everything I went through as it makes it feel real as when I look back at photos of me going through treatment it doesn’t feel like me or that it happened. 

Today I called the breast care nurses who have referred me to Bupa for counselling which is how I found out about this forum. It would be nice to hear from people who are going through similar journeys.

• Hi again  and well done navigating across to this corner of the Community.

The final third of the journey can be as hard as the first 2 two thirds put together.

The first third is everything to do with getting a diagnosis and the stress and anxiety getting to the point of treatment. The middle third is the treatment, yes it’s hard work but you go through this along with the ‘safety blanket’ of regular contact with your clinical teams as well as being in a routine……… then bang……. you are into the ‘post treatment’ world and most people are not ready for this…….. and the NHS System tends not to have the money, time and staff to get this part right.

During the first two thirds our bodies go through so much and once we finish treatment it like ‘let’s get some normality’ back.