Feeling lost after finishing treatment

• 14 replies
  • 35 subscribers

Hi there

This is my first time on here so thought I would introduce myself. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in March 2021 and within 2 weeks was having my 1st chemo session. I had 8 in total. Then I had a mastectomy followed by 15 rounds of radiotherapy. In September  2022 I had a hysterectomy which was my last bit of treatment. I’m now on hormone tablets for 10 years. 

Now my treatment has finished I’ve been feeling emotional and crying over things that wouldn’t normally bother me. I just feel a bit lost and not like ‘me’ if you get me. Things just feel a bit overwhelming and sometimes it feels like no one understands. I find it hard to talk about everything I went through as it makes it feel real as when I look back at photos of me going through treatment it doesn’t feel like me or that it happened. 

Today I called the breast care nurses who have referred me to Bupa for counselling which is how I found out about this forum. It would be nice to hear from people who are going through similar journeys.

• Hi there, I am new to this site and came across this thread.  I am feeling the exact same way,  I was diagnosed last June after my first ever mammogram and then what followed was a whirlwind of appointments, prodding and poking, surgery and emotion.  I feel very much like u have been lucky as i only needed a lumpectomy and radiotherapy followed by Tamoxifen.  However I now feel utterly lost. I feel so scared about the future, constantly worrying that it may return, I don't feel like I can talk at home as I think people are of the opinion that "it's over" and I should just be getting on with life as normal.  My partner has been amazing but now that "its over" he won't address it at all (his father has terminal cancer so I think he thinks I should just count myself lucky and move on now).