Lyphodema

• 16 replies
  • 32 subscribers

Hi, I'm new to this so apologies if I go on. I had a lumpectomy & removal of some Lymphnodes in 2020, now been diagnosed with Lymphodema in my right breast. Ongoing physio at home, change of lifestyle, no Caffeine, herbal teas, gone gluten free for joint pain. It's worked for me. Overwhelmed with this new diagnosis, as rang the breast nurses about lumps in breast, but they said it's normal & due to the Radiotherapy. Not blaming them, Covid has complicated everything, 40,% of women get Lymphedema after treatment, so it's fairly common. Just conflicting info from nurses, Dr's, my own Dr. I'm in overload from that & reading too much on the Internet. I thought once the tumour had gone, treatment finished, then I would be back to fighting fit, or at least working on it, but feel very drained with everything. Along with mum in a Dementia care home, a bit easier since she moved in there last June. Life long condition that I will have to deal with due to Radiotherapy, fix one thing & create another health issue. Going Breast clinic Friday as another lump detected during a routine scan on chest, I'm praying it's a blocked lymph node. Xx

• Hi  and I see this is your first post so welcome to the community.

I do not have any experience with this but there may be others who have and let’s see if they are looking in.

You may also want post this on both our Breast cancer and Lymphoedema groups as this will widen your opportunity to reach others.

The Macmillan Support Line is open 8am-8pm (timings may differ across services) 7 days a week on 0808 808 00 00 or via Webchat and Email too. This service provides cancer information, practical information, emotional support, benefits/financial guidance or just a listening ear. You may also find our Ask an Expert section helpful but do allow a few working days for a reply.