Lyphodema

• 16 replies
  • 32 subscribers

Hi, I'm new to this so apologies if I go on. I had a lumpectomy & removal of some Lymphnodes in 2020, now been diagnosed with Lymphodema in my right breast. Ongoing physio at home, change of lifestyle, no Caffeine, herbal teas, gone gluten free for joint pain. It's worked for me. Overwhelmed with this new diagnosis, as rang the breast nurses about lumps in breast, but they said it's normal & due to the Radiotherapy. Not blaming them, Covid has complicated everything, 40,% of women get Lymphedema after treatment, so it's fairly common. Just conflicting info from nurses, Dr's, my own Dr. I'm in overload from that & reading too much on the Internet. I thought once the tumour had gone, treatment finished, then I would be back to fighting fit, or at least working on it, but feel very drained with everything. Along with mum in a Dementia care home, a bit easier since she moved in there last June. Life long condition that I will have to deal with due to Radiotherapy, fix one thing & create another health issue. Going Breast clinic Friday as another lump detected during a routine scan on chest, I'm praying it's a blocked lymph node. Xx

• Hi Welshlady07, sorry for late response, struggling to find time to get on here, work full time etc. It is ongoing, I'm a bit shell shocked as thought I was all clear after op, then only because I insisted on face to face appt, discovered the Lyphodema. Rheumatoid Arthritis condition & now flare ups of Pericarditis. Bless you, fantastic that you have your husband's support. I too found IV no energy anymore. I used to buzz around housework, work, gardening etc, not anymore, same as you, health issues & pain have taken over my life. Waiting for results of PETSCAN, hopefully next week. Another ECG Monday & breast clinic on Weds. Bless you, stay strong xxFingers crossed