I dont know if I'm strong enough for this

• 70 replies
  • 63 subscribers

Where do all you wonderful carers find the mental strength to do all you do. I'm so out of my depth its unbelievable.  I don't seem to be able to get it right whether I'm letting my husband do his own thing or not. My head is exploding, I'm so angry all the time and so frustrated.  In a matter of weeks my strong, kind, caring, wonderful husband has been diminished by this awful disease and I dont know how to handle it. 

• Hallo. I'm new to all of the sh*t as well. I lurch between 'I'm fine' and being so devastated by my husband's illness that I can hardly function. The prospect of Christmas is too depressing, and I am increasingly just loosing my temper with people, especially at work, and then being overwhelmed with guilt about that. Its all so overwhelming I feel like screaming

• I understand how you feel. My husband is terminally ill and i'm really struggling with it all. He was diagnosed last April but it's only in the last few months that he's started to really deteriorate. Every day feels like a struggle but I find just taking it hour by hour is the only way to cope and get through it all. Sending you lots of love xx

• Anger is a natural reaction to loss, loss of control, loss of the vitality in the person you love, loss of the life you both had before cancer.  Some days are overwhelming and you doubt your ability to cope on any meaningful level, but cope you must and once the anger has subsided a little it will gradually become easier.   Give yourself time and permission to feel that way you feel, give voice to your feelings with people who understand.  Don’t expect too much and take each day one at a time,  It is all any of us can do to keep putting one foot infront of the other, but if we concentrate on just taking one step at a time, we will find ourselves walking.  Please accept my love and wishes for you to find your way x