Anything positive?

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 3 replies
  • 44 subscribers

See my profile for my situation .A quick look down this group I see nothing to look forward to. I am exhausted. Emotionally and physically. 2 young kids with their own needs and a mountain of tasks not getting any smaller. I'm not good at stopping and chilling at the best of times, bit I've had a month of this now and feel angry, frustrated, despondent and a million other feelings I am trying to hide. This wasn't supposed to be my future.

I think of myself as fairly resillient. I work in mental health for the nhs, but I am looking for something positive in my new role caring for my partner as I see no chink of light right now.

Someone prove me wrong ...

• Hi @haguey and welcome to Carers. For some reason I can't tag you, which would send an email letting you know there is a reply, so I hope you see this.

I think you've hit the nail on the head when you say, 'I'm not good at stopping and chilling'. Survival through the cancer journey as a carer is dependant on taking time out and relaxing whenever you can. It's been a long time since I ran a thread on relaxation and must be time for another one.

We all have different ways; here are a few that members have provided over the last year:

Go outside and deep breathe a few times, look around at the good things there, birds, trees, sky and clouds, just because it's there.

Take a hot bath with nice smelling products (bloke stuff or girl stuff can smell lovely and relaxing).

Go for a walk in a park or somewhere with pleasant surroundings.

Play relaxing music, your own or on a free website.

Do something that is just for yourself.

Go out for coffee with a friend.