Lost

• 2 replies
  • 21 subscribers

Hi there, 

I have never written on a forum before, but felt I needed to do something.

I lost my Dad at the end of June after discovering he had stage 4 lung cancer and a brain tumour only 3 months earlier, at the end of March, completely out of the blue. He was only 67. 

The last three months of my Dad’s life were a complete rollercoaster of emotions. My Dad bravely opted to have brain surgery to attempt to remove the tumour (they did, but it started growing back in 5 days), he completed radiotherapy, but unfortunately didn’t live long enough to start the chemo he so desperately wanted. 

i have lost other family members to cancer and felt that although life was frantic with appointments, telephone calls to various health professionals, staying with and supporting my Dad, I knew when this stopped, it would be bittersweet as the end would be near. In my head, I thought my Dad would get to the point where he’d be dosed up on morphine and he’d pass away with all our family around him as he wanted. Unfortunately, my Dad passed away suddenly without any of us with him, just two care workers. 

In the week that followed, the reality wouldn’t sink in. Then, I realised I was intentionally not dealing with it because I was scared of what the loss would feel like. After the funeral, I started to let my emotions go. I started back at work for the two remaining weeks of term and was so busy, I was distracted and genuinely felt ok when people asked. However, over the last 5 days I have felt completely lost. And it’s this feeling of being lost that has driven me to write on here tonight. I can function on a daily basis and get on with the day-to-day routine, but once the children are in bed, the lost feeling kicks in.