hello, new here - 5 months post hysterectomy

• 2 replies
  • 86 subscribers

Hi, this is my first time of writing in such a group, the Macmillan support officer at the hospital suggested I try - a bit daunting but I need to hear other people's experiences and share so as to be able to understand more and panic less. Diagnosed with endometrial cancer grade 1 stage 1a in March 2023, I had a total hysterectomy and now 5 months on after a follow up consultation I was informed that I have granulation of the vaginal vault. Some tissue was removed for testing and I have also had an MRI to check everything is structurally sound. I thought once I had the operation I would be free of anxiety and I am grateful for al that has and is being done but now to wait for 3 weeks for results feels unbearable, as this means little sleep and and I am worried that my ongoing exhaustion 5 months post op will only increase. Is there anyone out there that can relate. I feel absolutely alone with this. 

• Hello ATG

Welcome to the Online Community. I am sorry to hear that you had a diagnosis of endometrial cancer in March. 

I can understand how worrying that it must be to be told that there is some granulation in your vaginal vault but it is good that they have biopsied it and done the MRI. It is perhaps reassuring that you were stage 1a and grade 1 originally. It sounds as if this might be partly due to the healing process after the hysterectomy and that they are just being very careful and checking it out for you? 

I do get the anxiety about waiting for results- it's so tough. You just want to know straight away and while you are waiting all things run through your mind. But whatever is happening it is better to know and if there is a problem then they can hopefully give some treatment while at the very early stage.