How long in hospital for neck dissection? Advice for mum with young children

• 18 replies
  • 32 subscribers

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie here - diagnosed papillary thyroid cancer with lymph node spread. Awaiting news of how radical the neck dissection needs to be. Just wondering if you can tell me your experiences of how long you were in hospital for a thyroidectomy + neck dissection?? I have 2 very young children and feeling anxious about how long I’ll be in hospital. Also how I can manage keeping them from climbing on me when I do get home! If anyone else has similar situation please let me know any tips for managing.

Also wanting to know how long isolation in hospital is when you have the radioiodine treatment and have young children - I’ve heard it can be longer than if you don’t have kids!

thank you so much and wishing you all all the very best x

• Hello Mbow,

I did full thyroidectomy & neck dissection for papillary thyroid cancer last summer. I stayed in the hospital from Monday to Friday, but mostly because I had a serious calcium crisis on Wednesday - other than that my discharge was going from day to day. After the surgery you need to be careful not to lift weights for a period of time. The neck also feels stiff for a while and I personally felt also weak and slow the following weeks.

For the radioiodine I stayed in the hospital Monday to Wednesday - I had the option to leave on Tuesday night with caution but preferred to leave on Wednesday with ease.. I think the amount of days on how much you have to isolate after the hospital also depends on the level of the radio in your body and how quickly it is getting released based on your body and the amount of water you are drinking or can drink. Personally they let me know when they discharged me - it is a bit more strict for getting in contact with children and pregnant women, in my case it was 2 days for them, but as I said I think this depends on many factors and it’s more personal I think.