How long in hospital for neck dissection? Advice for mum with young children

• 18 replies
  • 31 subscribers

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie here - diagnosed papillary thyroid cancer with lymph node spread. Awaiting news of how radical the neck dissection needs to be. Just wondering if you can tell me your experiences of how long you were in hospital for a thyroidectomy + neck dissection?? I have 2 very young children and feeling anxious about how long I’ll be in hospital. Also how I can manage keeping them from climbing on me when I do get home! If anyone else has similar situation please let me know any tips for managing.

Also wanting to know how long isolation in hospital is when you have the radioiodine treatment and have young children - I’ve heard it can be longer than if you don’t have kids!

thank you so much and wishing you all all the very best x

• Hello there,

I was diagnosed with Follicular Thyroid cancer last December.

I can't comment on the neck dissection as I only had my thyroid removed, I was only in overnight each time, I did have my thyroid removed in two operations and the recovery for me wasn't as painful as I thought it was going to be.

I have had the radioactive iodine and I was in hospital for 5 days went in early Thursday Morning and came out Monday afternoon. I couldn't see my children for two days after the treatment but they do say to allow for up to a week as everyone is different and it all depends how quickly the radiation exits your body. During my treatment I drank plenty of water during the day and made sure I had sweets to suck on as that helps with your saliva glands.  

Hope this information is some help to you