Life with Thyroid Cancer

• 4 replies
  • 31 subscribers

Hi all! I hope most importantly you’re doing okay too. 

I just thought I’d brave a post on here in the hope it lets me let off some built up upset and disappointment.

I was a 20 year old guy, in my final year of honours degree at university when I discovered a lump on my neck. 3 weeks after my 21st Birthday I underwent a hemithyroidectomy.

I was the diagnosed with thyroid cancer. I at the time, felt it was best to keep this information private and only told immediate family and a few close friends. I completed my degree and achieved the highest classification which made me immensely proud of getting by. I’m now on 150mg of Levothyroxine. I went from none, to 25, 50, 100, 125, 100 and now 150. It’s been a process and I feel I’ve had a lot of changes to my life. 

I always had low self esteem, but I feel with some weight gain and physical changes, I’ve become worse. It’s had a knock on my ability confidence which I always held highly and have now found myself as quite an anxious person and it upsets me so deeply. I find myself in periods of being quite depressed, isolated and lonely. I’ve been quite symptomatic in recent time and just feel limited to no progress.

The close friends I did confide in, didn’t know what to say or how to cope… I understand it’s a difficult subject… so instead I pulled back and as time has progressed I’ve lost these friendships. There are a few who I know are there for me if I was to approach them, but I worry by doing so it takes away from the happy times and enjoyment… or worse that it leads them to walk away too. I feel it’s made me quite a cynical person and lost my love of life.

In recent months, I’ve been checked and been tested for leukaemia and types of Lymphoma, thankfully after a lot of testing and checks I’ve now got the all clear, but with regular monitoring.