My husband's prostate journey

• 150 replies
  • 170 subscribers

Hi everyone I'm new to this page so please excuse me if I ramble on, my hubby was diagnosed DLBCL 2 yrs ago, he went into full remission last summer we were absolutely and looking forward to getting back to normal we had just gotten over that when he was diagnosed with prostate cancer, so at end of January this year he had his op, he recovered well, no problems etc.  He was back for his check up today, his PSA is through the roof so it seems he has cancer somewhere in his body, we are both devastated, so it's back to waiting on scans etc.  My head is fit to burst, I'm trying to be very brave for him, but I just want to howl at the moon, he is very matter of fact about everything, so fingers crossed for him for his upcoming battle, thank you for listening to me

Linda

• You'r welcome Millie. I did exactly the same, getting into research mode as I was a research and development scientist. What I found was that there was a lot of out of date, or I'll informed information out there. Take a step back at the moment - I know it's not easy. All the best for the blood tests and MRI today. If there is anything you need to know or are concerned about, just ask.

• Hi Lodge and welcome, though sorry to hear of your husbands diagnosis, can i ask does your husband have any discomfort in his back or neck,

Eddie

• Hi  .

A warm welcome and sorry that your husband is having problems. The hormone therapy can cause balance issues, although this normally develops the longer you are on them. Is this what your husband is experiencing, almost like a staggering? Can you give us a little more information like age, general fitness as this can exacerbate the problem. It is a general rule that if your husband is experiencing anything outside of the normal then it should be reported to the doctor. The hormone therapy will possibly cause other problems, particularly fatigue so keeping as fit as possible is important.