PSA droped

• 5 replies
  • 111 subscribers

Good morning

I was diagnosed January this year (2024) with prostate cancer which had also spread to my hips, groin, ribs, lymph nodes and a possibility of my brain.

I was started on hormone therapy straight away and I am currently waiting for my third dose of chemotherapy next week (1 session every three weeks x six sessions).

My PSA was 369 at the start but I had a meeting with my urologist this week and it has dropped to 0.01 which he was very happy about, unfortunately it was a telephone appointment and as usual didn't ask any questions.

I just wondered if anyone else had had similar results and what there treatment if any after the chemotherapy.

Im 52 and have no idea where my life is taking me, I've been a self employed carpenter for 36 years and just haven't got the energy to do a great deal at the moment chemotherapy is a roller coaster.

If I can offer any advice about chemotherapy it would be to stay hydrated and keep an eye on bowel movements.

good luck to all

• Hello  

Well I can't give you all the answers, but I can tell you the combination of HT and Chemotherapy is working and with a reduced PSA of 0,01 I am sure everyone is happy.

It's my understanding that once this round of chemo has finished you will stay on HT and your PSA will be checked at regular intervals. From my limited knowledge if there is a significant rise in your PSA it will be another round of Chemotherapy.

Lets's hope for continued low PSA's.

Best wishes - Brian.

Community Champion badge

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

Strength, Courage, Faith, Hope, Defiance, VICTORY.

I am a Macmillan volunteer.

• hi there 

have all your questions written down for your next meeting especially as chemo gives you brain fog sometimes !!

in my experience they will see what the chemo does before taking the next step .