Finger joint stiffness and pain (especially in the morning)

• 4 replies
  • 109 subscribers

Hello all, this is my first time posting here.  I am reaching out in desperation as I seem to have a problem that both my GP and Oncologist are clueless about.

I was diagnosed with metastatic PC at the end of 2022 after a biopsy and nuclear bone scan. They found enlarged paraaortic and aortocaval lymphadenopathy up to 30x43mm.  Multiple bone metastases with largest lesion in pelvic bones. Uptake in C7, T1, T2, T3, left pelvis and proximal right femur.
PSA results 990 & 981 a week apart.

I was told I had about 1 year to live without treatment, or 5-8 years with treatment.

My treatment was:

• Bicalutamide 50mg tablets
  • Then Zoladex 3.6mg implant
  • Darolutamide (which I was on for about 8 months before my liver gave out and is still recovering)
  • Docetaxel Chemo (6 doses)
  • Bilateral Subcapsular Orchidectomy (this was my choice rather than staying on the Zoladex for the remainder of my life)
  • 6x 6y Radiotherapy

My treatment concluded in October 2023, although they want to put me on another androgen receptor inhibitor once my liver recovers from the injury from taking Darolutamide.

Starting sometime near the beginning of this year I woke up with stiffness in all of my fingers, it just suddenly started in both hands, and it would be painful to try to move them.  I had to very slowly make a fist in both hands which seemed to loosen them up and I was able to use them normally throughout the day.

Jump forward to now and my hands have gotten progressively worse.  Now I feel the joint pain all day and any time I haven't moved my fingers in a while (say 10 minutes) I have to slowly make a fist again otherwise any sudden movement causes a lot of pain.

This morning I was dreaming and it caused me to move one of my fingers suddenly with great pain, something I obviously have little control over when asleep.