Just starting Active Surveillance .

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 8 replies
  • 109 subscribers

Just started Active Surveillance had Biopsy Gleason score 3+4 =7 downgraded to 3+3=6 2 weeks later.

How have people got on with AC

kev

• Hi Kev

I'm in my fourth year of active surveillance. It's going well. Quarterly PSAs and annual MRIs all OK so far. I had no more biopsies because the original one was awful. I keep fit and avoid dairy products.

Best wishes for your AS.

David

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to David193

Thanks wot were your PSAs Did you have Gleason score which biopsy did you have? Ive had 2 biopsys first 1 was done under general anaesthetic 2nd was under local anaesthetic both the same type

cheers Kev 

• My PSA before diagnosis in 2017 was 3.5. Now it is around 4. My Gleason score was 6. I had a template biopsy.

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

I'm in the same boat as you. I was initially diagnosed with a Gleason score of 3+4=7. My PSA levels which led to the biopsy had reached 4.9. I had an MRI, through which they were unable to find anything. My urologist said the MRI results "look very good" and I have my first follow-up appointment in about 3 months (a 6-month appointment after the MRI). I believe this initial appointment will consist of a PSA test and a digital exam. Knocking on wood, hoping and praying that this situation holds off for many years to come. I also hope and pray the same for you.

• Hi I was diagnosed with Gleason score 3-3 and opted for active surveillance after considering removal and radiotherapy.

• Hi I was diagnosed in 2018  with Gleason score 3 -3  opted for active surveillance. I've since had 2 MRI scans which revealed no change in size. 

My psa varies from 4.5 to 6.5 on each test.

Am now on PSA tests every 6 months and praying for no problems from now on.

No more MRI scans or biopsy for time being.