Someone who has just been diagnosed with prostate cancer

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 7 replies
  • 108 subscribers

Hi All,

I am a newbie here and I'm on this forum on behalf of someone who is very dear to me.

Her Dad has just been diagnosed with prostate cancer. He is 70 years old, not overweight and fit for his age. His PSA is between 62 and 63.

The good news is that the cancer is not aggressive and it hasn't spread to his bones. He will be undergoing some further tests. After that a multidisciplinary team meeting will take place and treatment recommendations will be made.

He is based in Bromley. Does anyone know if the hospitals there have a good reputation for prostate cancer treatment? I've heard good things about St Bart's. Has anyone been treated there?

I just want give some reassurance. It would be nice to hear from anyone who has gone or currently going through this. 

Any information or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Vapersupreme

• Hi VaperSupreme, welcome to the community.

I don’t know anything about the hospitals you mention but can you maybe find out more about his diagnosis as it will help us answer your questions.

Has he had a biopsy and what were the Gleason scores from it?

Has he had an MRI to check where the cancer is e.g.is it well confined within the prostate or near the edge?

I presume he’s had a bone scan which shows no bone involvement from what you say.

The multi disciplinary team will look at all the test results etc. and come up with recommendations for treatment which could range from surgery, external beam radiation with hormone therapy, brachytherapy with hormone therapy, brachytherapy followed by external beam radiotherapy alongside hormone therapy.

If you click on my profile you’ll see I had surgery in 2015, followed by hormone therapy from December 2016 to April 2019 and external beam radiotherapy in March/April 2017.