Going back to work

• 12 replies
  • 39 subscribers

I am 9 months on from my SCT and feeling good. I've had some of my childhood vaccinations and I've recently joined a gym and plan on swimming once a week to build up my strength. I am very anxious about going back to work. I have a meeting with occupational health soon. I am a primary school teacher and concerned about my ability to cope as I still get fatigued very easily and I don't want to pick up infections from children. Teaching is very demanding and I wonder if I'll ever be ready to go back. I feel like a fraud because I look healthy and in remission but still get fatigued if I go for a long walk or have a busy day.. I often think about doing something else now instead. Can anyone relate and offer advise? I have also started on my maintenance chemo of lenalidomide and coping with skin rashes.

• Hi again  I am just bumping your post to see if any group members have first hand experience to help you out ((hugs))

Mike (Thehighlander)

It always seems impossible until its done - Nelson Mandela

Community Champion Badge

• ..... actually you may want to check out Myeloma UK as they have a Buddy Scheme so they may have someone who has navigated the exact same journey and for you to be able to have a chat........ they also have a Support Line on 0800 980 3332

Mike (Thehighlander)

It always seems impossible until its done - Nelson Mandela

Community Champion Badge

• Hi,I had my SCT a year last August.I went back to work last March . I was hospitalized a year last xmas because of catching the flue which delayed my return  than last week I spent another 4 nights in hospital because of an infection. I have a managerial role in the building trade so meet alot of people daily so although the fatigue isn't too bad these days my immune system isn't great so like you we look healthy on the outside but there's always that risk. I'm 14  months on lenelomide and apart fom bloated stomach it's not too bad.