Hi new to the group and just been diagnosed

• 4 replies
  • 75 subscribers

Hi everyone

ive just been diagnosed with a Melanoma on my toe after having a biopsy. I’ve just seen the plastic surgeon and I’m now waiting for surgery to amputate my toe and part of my foot. They are also going to be doing lymph node biopsies at the same time. 
It’s slowly starting to sink in, but it didn’t seem real when I heard the words cancer. I’ve now a 4-6 week wait for surgery which is horrible as I’m finding it hard to focus on anything else, I just want it all to be over and start on the road to recovery. 
I’m 49 years old, recently separated after 23 year, now got my own house with my 2 daughters who are 20 & 17. As you can imagine I’m petrified for them especially as I’ve lost my own mum. 
I’m a veterinary nurse but now have a small dog walking company so I need my feet for my job and this could put me out of work for a while. Being self employed, it’s going to be hard! 
just wondered if anyone else had been through a melanoma on their toe and been through an amputation? 
many thanks 

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the online community which I hope you'll find is both an informative and supportive place to be.

I'm sorry to read that after you've been diagnosed with melanoma you need to have your toe and part of your foot amputated and I can understand that this would be very hard to come to terms with.

I don't have the experience you're looking for so have searched the group and found that  is the most recent person to post about having their toe amputated. I have 'tagged' them into my reply to you and hope they'll pop on to share their experience with you.