Restaurant Card

• 19 replies
  • 33 subscribers

Hi all,

Just a question. Is anyone aware of a wallet size card, that can be shown at restaurants, etc, outlining your dietary requirements?

I am a 11 year veteran of cancer of the tongue, who is now suffering from the aftereffects of radiotherapy. Recently, I have had a jaw reconstruction caused by oestioradionecrosis.

As part of my rehabilitation, and for my mental health,  I am trying to get back to some form of restricted normality. Although the majority of my meals were pureed, I am now trying to eat soft food meals.

I am also aware of how restrictive my condition is for my family. Not being able to go out to restaurants or having to scrutinise every menu item, is not fun for anyone.

Also, having a problem with speech, makes it hard to communicate what you would like. It would be really great to have a small card, that highlighted the type of foods you can eat, pureed, soft, etc. Therefore, notifying the restaurants of your requirements.

Is anyone aware of the availability of such card? OR where you can get one from?

• Hi Pwe559

As I live in Australia I have no knowledge about cards outlining dietary requirements for restaurants in the U.K. but I understand the issue you are talking about. I had the same issue after my first maxillectomy in 2019 when I could only eat soft to pureed food. I was determined for it not to stop my family eating out, attending family get togethers etc as it was my issue and not theirs and I wanted to be part of all the celebrations.