Restaurant Card

• 19 replies
  • 33 subscribers

Hi all,

Just a question. Is anyone aware of a wallet size card, that can be shown at restaurants, etc, outlining your dietary requirements?

I am a 11 year veteran of cancer of the tongue, who is now suffering from the aftereffects of radiotherapy. Recently, I have had a jaw reconstruction caused by oestioradionecrosis.

As part of my rehabilitation, and for my mental health,  I am trying to get back to some form of restricted normality. Although the majority of my meals were pureed, I am now trying to eat soft food meals.

I am also aware of how restrictive my condition is for my family. Not being able to go out to restaurants or having to scrutinise every menu item, is not fun for anyone.

Also, having a problem with speech, makes it hard to communicate what you would like. It would be really great to have a small card, that highlighted the type of foods you can eat, pureed, soft, etc. Therefore, notifying the restaurants of your requirements.

Is anyone aware of the availability of such card? OR where you can get one from?

• Hi Paul hope you get the photos and it helps x

• Thank you so much for the photographs. This card is exactly what I am looking for and would be so helpful. I will try my local Macmillan Office to see if it is available in our area.

Once again, thank you.

• My teeth hurt so bad that I couldn't eat anything but soft food and couldn't take a bite of anything

Hi and welcome. Have your teeth been a problem during or after treatment? 

Dani 

Base of tongue cancer. T2N0M0 6 weeks Radiotherapy finished January 2019

I wrote a blog about my cancer. just click on the link below 

https://todaymycoffeetasteslikechristmasincostarica.com 

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

Community Champion badge