My mom recently got diagnosed with cancer

• 23 replies
  • 31 subscribers

Hi all im new to this but my mom has recently been diagnosed with cervical cancer at stage 3c1 and its spread and shes so scared and doesnt know what to expect, we know shes got to have both radio and cemo she has an appointment next week to discuss treatment plan ect but we all so scared and dont know what to expect if anyone has any advice for me that would be great my family are heartbroken but my mom is really struggling with it. Thank you for listening 

• Hi   and welcome to our group.

I’m sorry to read of your mum’s recent diagnosis, and can appreciate this will be a very scary time for you all.

Many of us have been through the chemo radiation treatment which your mum is facing, and I’m going to tag in a couple of ladies who were diagnosed at the same stage who have successfully completed their treatment.   

I hope they will come along and share their experiences with you and offer their support. I was diagnosed at stage 2b but also successfully completed chemoradiation 4years ago. 

There will lots of support we can give going through this, so please feel free to ask any questions as you think of them. It’s a difficult time waiting for the treatment plan, but it’s good you will have this next week and can get started. It would be helpful to know which chemo your mum will be getting as they can differ and have different effects. 

You are very welcome to be part of our group, and we have some lovely members who will help you through.

Take care of yourself too.

Sarah xx

Community Champion Badge

Cervical Cancer Forum

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm