My mom recently got diagnosed with cancer

• 23 replies
  • 31 subscribers

Hi all im new to this but my mom has recently been diagnosed with cervical cancer at stage 3c1 and its spread and shes so scared and doesnt know what to expect, we know shes got to have both radio and cemo she has an appointment next week to discuss treatment plan ect but we all so scared and dont know what to expect if anyone has any advice for me that would be great my family are heartbroken but my mom is really struggling with it. Thank you for listening 

• Hi  

Please try not to concentrate on survival rates or any sort of prognosis at this stage as it’s likely to bring you and your mum down mentally. Survival rates, here in the UK at least, are based on data from the last 5 years so by their very nature are out of date when they are published. I don’t Google stuff like this for myself, and asked my consultant never to tell me. I know I had about a 30% chance of long term survival after my last surgery-I’m 3 years out, so very hopeful for 5. I do try my best to keep positive. 

Before any treatment starts, your mum should be signing a consent form. This will detail all the potential side effects but it doesn’t mean your mum would have all or any of them. It all depends on how she reacts to the treatment, but the hospital has to make patients aware of all possibilities.

Try if you can to have a more positive mindset to encourage your mum. Many ladies go on to have successful treatment, so encourage her if possible to think that she could be one of them.

Sarah xx

Community Champion Badge

Cervical Cancer Forum

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

• Hi  thank you so much i genuinely need to hear all this im trying to tell my mom and im also thinking positive to but her mind set is pretty bad at the moment, im trying my very best and thank you again sarah xx

• Hi