Is this real?

• 14 replies
  • 267 subscribers

I found a lump in my right breast but I do have very lumpy breasts so this was nothing new for me. I went along and went through the same motions as  had on two previous occasions. This one is cancer, my mind doesn’t want to accept that this is real even though my logical brain knows it is. I am in the very early stages of this journey and don’t even have all the results/ facts as yet. I do know I have grade 3 breast cancer that is ER+ & PR+, waiting results on second biopsy and HER. Next appointment is in 2 days, this all comes after a 2 week holiday that the consultant told me to go on as “it would be a long time before I get another “. Some days whilst on holiday I simply forgot that I have cancer. Oh, this journey is going to be an education. I was a nurse for 22 years, I have a very positive attitude to life and I’m usually a very sensitive person but as yet I haven’t cried, I feel I need to be the strong person I’ve always been for my family and friends. This is all quite scary.

• Hi, I’m sorry to read this. Yes, it is scary. I suspect like many of us, you are in shock, but can’t quite express it. I never cried. Over three years later I’m not sure if I ever have (although Ive cried a lot over other things). Perhaps you are being strong for yourself. You are in the early days of diagnosis, and most of us (for some reason) feel better when we receive our treatment plan, once we know what’s what. The feeling of a loss of control is really common. This is a very supportive site, and others will reply soon. A big hug to you, x

• Thank you so much. I agree, in a very strange way I want to get my first treatment over with.