Anastrozole weight gain & insomnia

• 28 replies
  • 253 subscribers

Hi, I’m 58 & had a double mastectomy in June last year. I’fe been taking Anastrozole since around September. My eating habits have not changed at all but my weight definitely has! Anyone else experienced weight gain taking this? The fact that I’m not sleeping either is doing nothing for my energy levels to be able to counteract the weight gain. I can be absolutely exhausted when going to bed but then just lay there wide awake. 2 hours sleep on a night is not uncommon. I’ve got a check up with my clinical oncologist in April but just wondered if anyone else has had these experiences with Anastrozole. 

• Hi, I don't think that's a particularly common side effect, but I am not an expert. It's worth checking with the oncologist, or even giving the lovely folks here at Macmillan a call and chatting to them about it. The number is 0800 808 0000. Best wishes 

Community Champion badge

• I had an immediate (within 2 months)weight gain of nearly 2 stone with letrozole . I was changed to exemestane and weight gain has slowed but I haven't got back to where I was before despite exercise.  Sleeping is less of a problem but I have some difficult nights. I find getting up and making a small cup of hot milk and 2 paracetamol often helps. When I was on chemo and not sleeping I got some meds from my GP. I took these after 3 nights of no sleep - no more because I didn't want to become too reliant. I also listen to the radio but nothing too interesting. It is no joke, I wish they would come up with some other magic bullet that let us keep our oestrogens! Xx