Stoma output?

• 29 replies
  • 49 subscribers

My 2 week old stoma (Urostomy) is producing loads of, how shall I say snot like mucus, which adheres to it, rather than getting washed away into the collection bag. This is making the clean up, as pert of the bag change operation, rather unpleasant! Is this a permanent feature of the ileal conduit, or just because the system is new, and hasn't yet been fully purged, a temporary state,that will subside in time? 

• Hi KidneyBeen I hesitate to wade in not having a stoma nor husband with bc, but from what I have read on here, medics oops on info. They should have told you that the ileal conduit is made from gut tissue. This naturally produces mucus to lubricate the passage of solids along your digestive tract. it will go on doing so although I have no knowledge of how much, in it's transplanted location.. The stoma veterans will no doubt be along soon to offer proper advice. 

best wishes, Denby

• Hi Kidneybeen

It's permanent, but for me has probably lessened over time. It’s still there every day. Mine does not collect on my stoma but I can see it in the bag, in the night bag and in the tubing. 

Community Champion Badge

Cervical Cancer Forum

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

• Oh Great! Pee I don't mind, but this mucus is absolutely gross! It's maybe worse at the moment, as it collects around the stent coming out of the stoma, making it more difficult to clean away. Hopefully once the stent is removed, tomorrow, it might not be so bad.

KidneyBeen

• I don’t find it an issue nowadays, as I’m so used to it and it has never collected on my stoma. Hopefully the stent removal will improve things for you. 

Community Champion Badge

Cervical Cancer Forum

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

• I do get mucus on the stoma sometimes but it’s easy to clean off gently.I think the mucus was worse when I had the stents in.