My heart is Broken

• 2 replies
  • 19 subscribers

Where to begin... Although I am new to Macmillan I am not new to this horrible disease Cancer. This time it's different, my father was diagnosed with Cancer on Wedndesday, my heart is broken. I'm Tina, daughter to my amazing Dad Bill, 82 years young. Dad was diagnosed with severe emphysema (COPD) in March this year. He has lost a lot weight over the last year, lacking in appetite, having a lot of phlem etc.. His had X-rays, CT Scan and ultra scans, none of which showed signs of a cancer. A week or so ago he underwent a fluid drain on his lung, the fluid was tested and before we know it, we are told he has advanced Cancer as cancer cells were found in his fluid. Am I missing something? I'm so mad, confused, upset all sorts of emotions right now. They have said he has Cancer, they say it's advanced, they say he has 4 months possibly more, no, here is what we could or might try. How can they know all these things when they don't know where the Cancer is!!! Bearing in mind this has been told to us by his Respiratory consultant, not a oncology consultant. God I have so many things going round in my head, ifs, but’s and most of all why? My poor Dad, I feel has given up, before we went to the appointment and was told this devastating news he was a totally different person. I won't give up, I have to be strong for both my parents and me. CT scan awaits on Monday, lets see what that shows.

• Heyy