Tipple Talk

• 2 replies
  • 42 subscribers

Hi all

I thought I would ask this question from those in the know.... I am about to start Folfiri with Cetuximab later this week and I wondered if the occasional alcoholic drink would be OK? I am in the lucky position of no liver mets (yet) and obviously chocolate is one of my 'five a day' but will the occasional Baileys, gin and tonic or glass of red wine cause a disaster?

I know that it is ultimately my own choice but given that I am going to die from the cancer anyway, I would rather eat, drink and be merry while I still can than live on a diet of celery and kale smoothies. On the other hand if it is going to stop the chemo working or cause my liver to explode I guess I can do without. We are talking about a single drink at weekends, not getting hammered on white lightning behind the bike sheds.

Thoughts?

• Hi , I have no experience of your drugs and what the warnings are on the packet, but I thought I’d share my over cautious response.

A long while ago, 30 and a half years ago in fact I was discharged from hospital with my youngest child and antibiotics or some medication which said don’t use alcohol. I thought half a glass of champagne was reasonable, to celebrate, but was really scared when suddenly while talking to my husband I was conscious that it was entire gobbledygook coming out, I tried again and what I heard dI’d not match what I was trying to say, it was really quite frightening but did pass in a few minutes. As an ex civil servant I’m not really a rule breaker anyway but I don’t break no alcohol rules, after this.  

I think you will have many alternative posts though. 

Take care KT

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi