Work related question

• 4 replies
  • 34 subscribers

My employer wants a capability meeting with me.I finished active treatment August 23 after completing a year of chemo,surgery,rads and then oral chemotherapy.ive had few setbacks with recovery, my breast implant capsulated n I'm getting physio for hip pain bought on by chemical induced menopause and am also getting physio (just started) on my affected arm.Ive told my employer this but because I've been off 77weeks I'm told they want to still proceed withe the capability meeting. Any advice anyone? 

• Hi  and welcome to this corner of the community.

I have no experience in this area but let’s look for any members with experience to pick up on your post.

Yoj may want to call the Macmillan Support Line open 8am-8pm (timings may differ across services) 7 days a week on 0808 808 00 00 as you can talk this through with one of our employment support advisers.

Mike (Thehighlander)

It always seems impossible until its done - Nelson Mandela

Community Champion Badge

• Thanks for the advice Highlander,much appreciated. 

• Hi Hawk

I live in Australia so things may work a bit differently here. It sounds a bit like a performance appraisal to me. We had these annually where I used to work. It boils down to looking at your job description and seeing if you are meeting the performance indicators. If not then having a plan put in place to work out why and help achieve them within a given time frame.