Feel unable to move forward.

• 6 replies
  • 32 subscribers

I was diagnosed with grade 1 endometrial cancer in October and had a total hysterectomy in December. Everything went amazingly well and I am so lucky and grateful that I did not need any more treatment. I returned to work and felt like life should return to normal however I just feel low and anxious a lot of the time. I’ve only discussed this with my husband and a couple of close friends as I feel guilty for feeling like this. I am so lucky that my cancer was removed with surgery alone. I work as a nurse and see so many people who are having a much more challenging time than I am so I think I should just try and get on with it. But I seem to be unable to move forward. I would be grateful for any advice x

• Hi  and welcome to this corner of the community. It is indeed challenging to get back to some sort of normality following treatment and to be able to move on.

You are ‘only’ about 5 months out from treatment so you are still in the recovery period. When I say recovery I am thinking about trusting you body, getting your head sorted out as to what you have been through and trying to understand how to move forward.

Talking with your family and friends can help........ but at times you need to look outside that group of people.

What steps have you take to move this forward?….. I enrolled in a weekly post cancer focused circuits class at my local Maggie's Centre and that was the turning point for me.

You may find it helpful to make a cuppa and have a look at this great paper After Treatment Finishes - Then What? by Dr Peter Harvey as it highlights the post treatment milestones.

Get back to me once you have read the paper with your thoughts about it.

Mike (Thehighlander)

It always seems impossible until its done - Nelson Mandela

Community Champion Badge