Thoughts on scaling back work role?

• 6 replies
  • 34 subscribers

Hi. I am going to be 52 this July. I had BC and a mastectomy in January 2022 and so far, so good - I am very lucky to be feeling ok and taking my Tamoxifen etc. One thing I have noticed is how anxious I am feeling a lot of the time which may be menopause related or just the way I am… I am a team manager for a smallish service in a Local authority and find myself constantly questioning my decisions and taking my team’s issues to heart etc. I never had ambitions to lead the team and it was weird taking on that role after being their ‘equal’ colleague previously, however I have done it for several years now. I said I would do it too I’m 50 and here we are! I would like to give up the managerial role and go back to being a ‘regular’ team member as I feel this would make me happier and less stressed overall despite the slight pay cut. My husband doesn’t think I should as he thinks I may just get annoyed with whoever takes over (I would try not to!) I enjoy the main part of my job but I don’t enjoy the people management bit… any thoughts anyone? Am meeting my own boss on Monday to discuss and he has already said he will try to persuade me not to step back so I am feeling a bit conflicted! Thank you Pray 

• Hi  and welcome to this little corner of the community. This is going to be a hard personal decision for you and only you will know what is best for you and your family.

I was 43 (1999) when I was first diagnosed with my incurable but treatable blood cancer…… I loved my job and continued to work at my demanding teaching job in further education for 12 years. During those 12 years I was having periods of regular treatment but still was able to maintain a full timetable. 

At one point my line manager went off sick so I covered his position for 6 months, he did not return and I was offered the job but I had come to realise there was more to life than money and more stress.