Work life after treatment

• 9 replies
  • 31 subscribers

Hi there everyone 

I’ve just joined the group, was wondering if anyone else is having difficulty returning to work after cancer. I’m a teacher. Had a year off for breast cancer treatment, a year shielding & teaching from home, gone back part time, changed role to out of classroom and no longer a dept leader, and still can’t cope mainly with responsibility etc. Anxiety, fatigue etc. Considering applying for ill health retirement. Any advice out there? 

• Hi and I see it's your first post on the site so welcome to the Community.

First do also consider connecting in with our very active Breast cancer group as many members do tend to stick around post treatment and support each other.

I can understand the challenges you are facing. I was a Lecturer in a Further Education College for over 20 years. I was diagnosed with my rare, incurable but treatable Non Hodgkins Lymphoma back in 1999 so was teaching for 12 years all the way through my many treatments....... but once I reached my 55th birthday I decided that enough was enough and took early retirement.

I did try to get retirement on ill health grounds...... but 'I did not fit the criteria' Frowning2........ "your condition is not debilitating enough and you are still fit for work so you cant get ill health retirement" I was told.......

So I just lifted my pension and left - yes I lost out financially slightly but it was the best move I ever made....... although 2 years into my retirement (2013) my condition kicked off big style and was a deaths door....... but I am now 6 years out from my last treatment and remission achieved in Sep 2016 (I only ever had 6-9 months remission before more treatments were required during the first 17 years) and doing great.

I have talked with many teachers in this community and on other support platforms who are dealing with the same challenges with many moving away from teaching.