“Life” after cancer

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 5 replies
  • 28 subscribers

Hay, I’m new to this and finally accepted that I still need help after getting the all clear. It’s been over a year and getting back to normality has been so hard. I think I need to speak to people with the same or similar experience to me. Guess this is the best place to start. I can’t do life after cancer on my own, my family and friends have been amazing but no one can truly understand what I’ve been through. Thanks for reading... 

• Hi  and welcome to the Community.

Normality is such a complicated word when it comes to the post treatment journey.

I see you were treated for HL, blood cancer treatment can be full on and often requires a significant recover time.

I was diagnosed with a rare NHL back in 1999 with multiple relapses so I think my life has been years of treatment, recovery and relapse on ‘repeat‘ eventually going on to have two Allo (donor) Stem Cell Transplants......so Ibtotaly get your journey.

I you can see my story in my profile but my last main treatment was October 2015 reaching remission for the first time in 17 years back in Sep 2016..... and au am doing great.

Recover takes time and some determination. Why not start with having a look at this great paper. Once you have had a look do cone back and tell me what you think and we can talk more.

We do actually have a dedicated Stem Cell Transplant group where people who are going through or have been through SCT hang out.

You may find some of our ongoing threads helpful:

Life after a SCT - A Survivor's Guide where we have tried to collect or post treatment experiences.

Late effects and problems where we look at issues further down the line post SCT.

We all have some Amusing stories from our SCT journey to tell - have a look.

Mike (Thehighlander)

It always seems impossible until its done - Nelson Mandela

Community Champion Badge

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi