Getting back me again

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 6 replies
  • 30 subscribers

Hi I am new to this, finished chemotherapy, surgery and radiotherapy treatment last year, just wanted to get back to "normal" but have found I`m not sure what that is anymore.  I`m feeling very sensitive and stressed about anything, coronavirus has not helped!  Anyone feeling the same? I`m feeling lost despite my loving family 

• Hi Jackie  and welcome to the Mac Online Community and to this little corner.

The great ‘normal’ question?.... but COVID has not helped this cancer journey but this will pass like any other pandemic apart from the fact that us not being on this type of journey before.

I have been on my cancer journey for over 21 years now and at times, living the post cancer treatment journey is like living in a parallel universe - you can see your old life but regardless what you do you can not get back on that same path.

Following my many years of treatment and now nearly 5 years into my post treatment life, a situation I was unwillingly put into. It did actually make me review life and everything that we once thought important.

So some things from our old life are still in our lives but various aspects of our old life that were once seen as important were put in the bin and we don’t miss them.

I always start by highlighting this great paper as it unpacks the post treatment milestones. Make a cup, have a look and come back to us with your thoughts as it will make you think.

I see you have found the breast cancer group - again a good place for specific information as each cancer is so different.

When you have time put some info in your story as it helps a lot - my one is rather long but it has been 21 years.

Highlander ((hugs))

Mike (Thehighlander)

It always seems impossible until its done - Nelson Mandela

Community Champion Badge

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to Thehighlander

Hi