Survivors Guilt

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 9 replies
  • 30 subscribers

Hi Everyone, 

I'm really new to this idea support groups. I have been in remission since 2001, I came out of hospital the day before my third birthday. I had Non Hodgkin's lymphoma B Cell. It wasn't until recently that I realised I suffered from survivors guilt. My therapist pointed it out to me. When I was young I asked my mum if I could try to contact some of the children that were on my ward. Sadly, I found out that only me and one other girl survived. Ever since then I have felt the need to be perfect to make up for the fact I survived. After all if I'm not perfect then why did I survive and the others didn't. It's something I'm trying to overcome and I feel that talking to others could help. 

Thank you if you managed to read all of that 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Morning Liv /  

Warm welcome to the Mac Community, pleased to see you found us but not so pleased you have survivor guilt issues :-/

This is very common amongst ex cancer patients, like a form of PTSD. Typing it out and chatting about it should be cathartic; another way of gradually putting this issue to bed is by helping others: That's why you see so many self help groups set up by those with various forms of survivor guilt.

As you have been through treatment and coping with the 'baggage' that can leave in it's wake do you think helping others would be of benefit to you ? After all you have survived for a good reason right Innocent

By sheer coincidence another new member has just joined this group by the name of  who is a year from diagnosis (6 months post treatment) you could chat with ?  Clicking this link will take you to their intro message and is looking for a survivor who has been through this and can share experiences.

I'll also give the Hodgkins Champ Mike  a shout he has been having treatment on and off for around 17 years for NHL.