Ileostomy diet

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 7 replies
  • 29 subscribers

Hi, can anyone tell me about the benefits of eating porridge oats if you have an ileostomy stoma. I've read they are good for thickening and slowing things down. I'm eating them but I see them come through my bag relatively quickly and looking much the same form as when I ate them. If they are going through so quick and looking the same, am I getting much nutritional benefit from them? 

• Hi  and welcome to this little corner of the Online Community, although I am sorry to see you finding us.

My cancer journey was rather different so I have no experience that can help but talking with people who are on the same journey can help a lot so can I highlight our very supportive Ileostomy, colostomy and stoma support Group.

Posting in this group will open up your concerns to a wider group of people who know exactly what………. you are going through at the moment. 

Follow the link I've created, join the group then introduce yourself to the group and post questions after selecting 'start a discussion' and you can also join in with existing conversations by clicking on 'reply'.

All the best.

Mike (Thehighlander)

It always seems impossible until its done - Nelson Mandela

Community Champion Badge

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi 

Warm welcome to the Mac Community and the Life After Cancer Group.

There are quite a few messages mentioning porridge with a stoma in the Ileostomy, Colonoscopy and Stoma Support Group.

If you click/tap this link it will take you the Porridge search page results and you could join the Stoma Group then ask about this in a new discussion Thumbsup tone1

Thanks Mike  / 

Hope this is of some help for now, G n' J

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to FormerMember

Themes for the help. Thumbsup

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi