My Mum

• 6 replies
  • 29 subscribers

Hi everyone, 

I am very new to this and I’m sorry if this is not what this is for. My Mum was diagnosed with Bladder Cancer last year, she was initially told it was Stage 1 and hadn’t spread, but when she had the surgery to remove they discovered it was stage 3 and had spread to the lymph nodes. She was then told she would most likely have Chemo to basically cleanse her body is how it was kind of explained but was then sadly told that the type cancer she had was resistant to chemotherapy and so she is having immunotherapy. We were told that this will keep the cancer away for up to 2 years but that it will come back. We have to then hope there is a chemo by then or that it can be removed. She is over half way through her year long treatment and coping really well and selfishly as much as I don’t want her to go through treatment I’m terrified that by July it will be finished and then it’s just a waiting game. I don’t really know anyone going through this and while friends are supportive I’m learning that people don’t really know what to say. I can generally cope well most days but the reality is that I’m completely terrified of what might come next. Thank you for reading. 

• Hi  L2195 and a warm welcome to the forum but sorry you have to be hear and the reason why. like your mum i have bladder cancer with complications, so can't really help with what's to come post immunotherapy, though Macmillan do have a forum, The Bladder cancer forum, where if you put your post on there you would get lots of advice and support. I am glad your mum is coping really well and understand, from experience, how emotional it is looking after a parent with cancer, I wish you and your mum the very best on your cancer journey, take care.

Eddie